ZRA boss elected to top African tax council

ZRA Commissioner General, Kingsley Chanda

ZAMBIA Revenue Authority (ZRA) Commissioner General, Kingsley Chanda, has been elected to the African Tax Administration Forum (ATAF) Council.

Mr Chanda becomes a member of the sixth Council of ATAF which will govern the institution for the next two years.
He was voted by the continent together with his Nigerian counterpart Muhammad Nami to win his membership to the council.
Other council members were voted in through their regional blocks.
This is contained a statement issued by the ZRA acting Corporate Communications Manager, Robert Zawe.
ATAF has five regional blocks namely, Central, Eastern, Western, Northern and Southern and is an international organisation which provides a platform for cooperation among African tax authorities.
ATAF Executive Secretary, Logan Wort, said the council would continue the discussions at the inclusive framework on the taxation of the digital economy and the need for continental tax policy direction.
In a communique to the new members, Mr Wort said: “we are confident that through your appointment you are fulfilling ATAF’s mission of providing a platform to improve the performance of tax administration in Africa.
“Your term of office starts at an exciting and challenging time for not only for the growth of ATAF but also for international tax,” he said.
He said this was being done as ATAF implement the new strategic plan 2021 – 2025 towards the vision of building tax systems in Africa to enhance economic development and improve the living standards.
Mr Wort said this was in line with the Sustainable Development Goals 2030, and the aspirations of the African Union’s Agenda 2063 during the discussions of this meeting.
The current membership of the Council include Philippe Tchodie, Chairperson (Togo), Edward Kieswetter, Vice Chairperson (South Africa), Mr Kingsley Chanda (Zambia), Pascal Ruganintwali (Rwanda) and Dr Amelia Muendane (Mozambique).
Others are Audace Niyonzima (Burundi), John Musinguzi (Uganda), Khaled Zazou (Morocco), James Mburu (Kenya), Logan Wort, Executive Secretary (Ex-Officio) and Yankuba Darboe (Gambia).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here