LUSAKA City Council has reconstituted 10 committees that are responsible for administrative aspects or running the municipality following a Special Full Council meeting.
LCC public relations manager George Sichimba announced that the committees include Human Resource and Administration Committee, Legal Services, Education Services Committee, Planning and Information Management Services, Health Services Committee.
Mr Sichimba said other committees include Finance, Valuation and Commercial Undertakings, Agricultural, Environment and Natural Resources, Community Development and Social Services, Engineering Services and Audit.
The committees have been established in line with Section 15 of the Local Government Act No. 2 of 2019, read together with Clause 10 (1) and 11 (1) (a) of the Third Schedule of the Act.
The law provides that, members of a committee shall be appointed by the Council from amongst persons who are Councilors.
Meanwhile, Lusaka Mayor Miles Sampa has appointed Councilor Luckson Sakala as Chief Whip of the Council who will be deputized by Councilor Ruth Phiri.
Mr. Sampa said new committees should be decisive and avoid going back and forth on decision making as time has run out for such.
Mr Sampa said he expects sanity in markets and bus stations, cleanliness throughout the city, unnamed streets to be named and unimplemented projects to be implemented.
The Mayor has congratulated the newly elected Committee Chairpersons and urged them and their respective committees to be action oriented and avoid unnecessary bureaucracy.
The Mayor said 2020 is the year of action and instructed new committees to immediately start working.
The new committees were approved during the Special Full Council Meeting held in the Council Chamber on Wednesday.

Leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply